Indiana Course Catalog
Requirements
Overview
(more details)

Total Hours

24

Elective Hours

18

Mandatory Hours

6

License Renewal
Period: 2 Year(s)

Choose Your Courses Approval # Total Hours Elective Hours Mandatory Hours Sale Price
18 hr. Indiana Electives Only Broker Commercial Package
Package 18 18 $210
Advocating for Short Sale Clients
3 3 $29
Anatomy of Commercial Building
3 3 $35
Basics of Real Estate Taxation
5 5 $39
Breaking Barriers: Fair Housing
2 2 $19
Client Advocacy in Commercial Real Estate
3 3 $35
Commercial Landlord Representation
3 3 $35
Cracking the Code of Ethics
4 2 2 $35
Determining Value of Commercial Properties
3 3 $35
Diversity: Your Kaleidoscope of Clients
3 3 $29
Foundations of Real Estate Finance
5 5 $39
From Contract to Keys: The Mortgage Process
5 5 $39
Going Green: The Environmental Movement in Real Estate
3 3 $29
Hot Market Strategies
3 3 $29
Investment Strategies in Commercial Real Estate
3 3 $35
Keeping it Honest: Understanding Real Estate and Mortgage Fraud
2 2 $19
Online Risk Management
4 4 $35
Real Estate Investors and Your Business
4 4 $35
Roadmap to Success - Business Planning for Real Estate Professionals
4 4 $35
Selling to Your Sphere of Influence
3 3 $29
Sign Here: Contract Law on E-Signatures
3 3 $29
The Fundamentals of Commercial Real Estate
3 3 $35
Title and Escrow: Two Families, One Transaction
2 2 $19
Today's MLS: New Paradigms: Better Results
4 4 $35
Uncle Sam has Homes for Sale: Listing and Selling HUD Homes
4 4 $35
Indiana Requirement Details

School Code/Approval Number:  Broker – CE10800853 Salesperson – CE10800854. 

Renewal Date for both Brokers and Salespersons: June 30, 2014. The broker license renewal that would have taken place in 2013 (odd years), has been changed to 2014 to align the renewals of salespersons and brokers for the license transition.

LICENSE TRANSITION DETAILS: On July 1, 2014, the salesperson license will no longer be issued to initial applicants for real estate licensure.The broker license will become the initial license in the real estate profession in Indiana. The real estate industry will consist of managing brokers and brokers.

  • Salesperson Transition: For the renewal period beginning July 1, 2012 and ending on June 30, 2014, the continuing education required for renewal of the salesperson license will be met by completion of the twenty-four (24) hour broker transition course.
  • Brokers: The requirement for the period from July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2013, will continue to be the sixteen (16) hours of continuing education, with six (6) mandatory hours and ten (10) elective hours. For the period of July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2014, brokers wanting to renew their license will need to complete eight (8) additional hours of continuing education including two (2) hours in Indiana Real Estate License Law. The CE Shop does not offer the two (2) hour Indiana Real Estate License Law course at this time. The other six (6) hours can be either elective or mandatory course(s). Individuals currently licensed as real estate brokers will not need to complete the broker transition course during the license transition period.

Below are the course options in our catalog that count toward the six (6) mandatory hours:

  • Keeping it Honest: Understanding Real Estate and Mortgage Fraud (2 hours) – Anti-Trust
  • Title & Escrow: Two Families, One Transaction (2 hours) – Settlement Procedures
  • Breaking Barriers: Fair Housing (2 hours) – Civil Rights Law
  • Cracking the Code of Ethics (2 hours) – Ethics and Standards of Conduct

CE Shop License Transition Offering: 22 hours for Brokers; 0 hours for Salespersons. Currently, we do not offer the 24 hour Broker Transition course.

What happens after the license transition period? Beginning July 1, 2014, the license renewal period for all real estate licensees will last three (3) years. After June 30, 2014, real estate licensees will have to complete twelve (12) hours of approved continuing education each year, for a total of thirty-six (36) hours over the three (3) renewal period.

Seat time: The Indiana Real Estate Commission requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. All courses must take the minimum amount of time it is approved for based on 50 minute hours. Ex. if the course is approved for 3 "clock hours" it must take a minimum of 150 minutes for the student to complete. The course system will track your participation time as well as count down the minimum time required. Please note that your course will not be counted as completed until the minimum time requirement has been met.

Reporting: The state does not have schools report CE hours.

Expiration date of course: Course expiration dates vary by course but are generally one year after order date. Each individual course will have an expiration date listed in your account. 

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with a 75% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass.

Certificates: Immediately upon real estate course completion, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic copy of the course Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five (5) years, should you need additional copies at a later time. Please refer to your renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate(s) of Completion with your renewal. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date on your certificates of completion will reflect this.

Please enter your individual license number correctly and fully when prompted in the registration process.

Still have questions? Visit our Frequently Asked Questions or Contact Us

Click here for licensing and regulatory agency information